27 April 2014

2013-14 Awards

2013-14 Awards
On behalf of himself and Vice chairman Pepe Perryman, Chairman Peter Masters started with giving their thanks to the following - Baz Milligan and Ron Ratchford for the time they spend on the ground and surrounds; TISA for their support in the selling of the season tickets; Jo-Anne Larcombe for her Chaplain Programme notes; Gemma and her turnstile staff; the L2 staff; Thornes Fruit & Veg Ltd for their supplies during the season; Sponsors Truro and Penwith College; Solicitors Nalders and accountants Bishop Fleming for their continued input into business matters and finally to Vaughan Pickhaver and City Media for the filming and photography that appears on the club's website.

Sincere and special thanks with presentations were made to the following:-
Caroline Hargreaves for her fund raising efforts on the 50/50 at the gate - over £2251 raised for the club's funds;
Dave Deacon for producing a match programme for each home game of both the first and seconds teams throughout the season;
Tom Trust and Mike Burns for their match day tannoy announcement work;
Ron Ratchford collected a case of Crabbie's;
and Eddie Owen and Tracey Finemore for all their work in cleaning the players kit, amongst other duties they carry out on behalf of the club.

Moving onto the players:-
There was an award for the Best Local Talent for the season and both Neil Slateford and Liam Eddy collected trophies
The Most Improved Player was Warren Daw
The first team's Golden Boot went to Ben Watson who's goal on the day took him onto 13 since joining the club during the season and one ahead of Liam Eddy
The vote from the supporters at the game for their Player of the Season saw 68% of the nominations go to Cody Cooke
The players all signed a football for a special presentation and thank you to the Baynham family who, based in Coventry, have covered an amazing 16,000 miles in following the club this season

Steve Tully's Manager's Player of the Season went to Shane White, who also came back up for the Players Player of the Season.
Tulls also took the time to say a big thank you to the Chairman for giving him the last 10 games of the season as manager and feels in that time that the club has moved forward and the aim now is to return it to being a Conference South club where it deserves to be and he, along with assistant Wayne Carlisle, will be endeavouring to attract players of that standard to the club as the aim is to move the club forward.

Second team manager John Peters was also present and pleased to say that his improved team are still looking for at least a top six finish in the SWPL Division One West this season.
He gave a thank you to the chairman for his support, as well as to his management staff of Robin Watt, Steve Flack and Vic Osborne and also mentioned that the support from the first team has been fantastic.
He confirmed that the aim is to get the team out of the Division One West, if not this season certainly next season before announcing his teams awards.
These were : Players player - Frazer Cadman
While the Management's award from the four of them went to a player who never misses a training session and is always amongst the first to arrive for a game : Scott Palmer.
The Young Player of the Year went to 16 year old Kieran Parker.

Onto the Chairman's Player of the Season and in line with the supporters choice this went to Cody Cooke who Peter Masters described as a player who always gives a 110%, and in his opinion has the right attitude for the game and is a credit to his parents. There wasn't much more he could add that hasn't already been said about the player over the last couple of seasons, except he wasn't too complimentary about his glass collecting!

Finally to the TISA (Truro Independent Supporters Association) awards. These were announced by their Secretary Simon Birch, who firstly commented on how fantastic for them it had been to yet again support the team in their travels and they were very much looking forward to the next few seasons and the feeling was really positive.
The TISA's Player of the Year was Cody Cooke, with the TISA Supporter of the Season being Paul Condon.
Their Raffle prize - a signed Barry Hayles shirt - was won by Brian Thompson.

By Dave Deacon, 27th Apr 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment